top of page
  • Writer's pictureMidSouth ITPA

2020 Scholarship Winners

The Midsouth Chapter attended the Telecommunications Association of the Southeast’s (TELSE) Summer Symposium in June and awarded over $20,000 to 15 students through the Billy D. Young Telephone Pioneer Memorial #Scholarship.

After serving in the U.S. Air Force, Mr. Young dedicated his career to telecommunications, working with several companies in Mississippi and Alabama. The scholarship was established in his memory to support current high school seniors and undergraduate college students who are dependent children or grandchildren of an employee of a TELSE member company or the ITPA Mid-South Chapter. Selection of scholars is based on a number of factors with special emphasis on each individual’s character, personal merit, and background. Merit is demonstrated in a variety of ways: leadership in school, civic, and other extracurricular activities; academic achievement; and motivation to serve and succeed in all endeavors.

Congratulations to our 2020 Scholarship Awardees!

$5,000 winner: Maeghan Grace Lee, Franklin Telephone Company

$3,000 winner: Addison Lynn Stailey, Electricom

$3,000 winner: Joshuan Roan Griffin, Franklin Telephone Company

$1,000 winners: Erica Chmielewski (TEC), Erin Branna Martin (New Hope Telephone Cooperative), Colby Lewis King (O'Telco), Josie Layne Hussey (Mon-Cre Telephone Cooperative), Kyle Andrew Berryhill (Power & Tel), Johnah Bayleigh Pipkins (Franklin Telephone Company), Noah Thomas Lessley (O'Telco), Kenzi Jordyn Traylor (Farmers Telecommunications Cooperative), Brianna Nichole Mathis (TEC), and Laila Alyssa Hall (Farmers Telecommunications Cooperative).

***Unfortunately, due to COVID-19 concerns, we were unable to have an awards ceremony for our scholarship recipients at the TELSE Summer Symposium.***

27 views0 comments


bottom of page